+234 9 291 5925 +234 805 776 6041
CDC Adds 22 Countries to Its COVID-19 High-Risk Travel List

CDC Adds 22 Countries to Its COVID-19 High-Risk Travel List

The United States Center for Disease Control and Prevention has tightened its advice on travel to several countries by including them in Level 4, which consists of profoundly affected territories in terms of COVID-19.

In addition, after estimating the epidemiological situation in other territories, the CDC moved additional 22 countries to its Level 3 category, which consists of “high” risk territories, VisaGuide.World reports.

Countries that have reported over 500 infection cases per 100,000 residents in the last 28 days are placed on the Level 4 list; therefore, the CDC urges all travelers to avoid travel to Level 4 in order to halt another increase in the number of infections.

The following destinations have been added to Level 4, based on CDC data:

  • Albania
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Cape Verde
  • Egypt
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Israel
  • Panama
  • Qatar
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Sint Maarten
  • Suriname
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uruguay

Based on the data collected by the CDC, the following countries are now included in Level 3, which consist of territories that have reported between 100 and 500 cases per 100,000 residents in the last 28 days:

  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Cuba
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Jamaica
  • Kuwait
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Paraguay
  • The Philippines
  • Saba
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Togo
  • Uganda

As for Level 2, it includes countries that have reported 50-90 cases of COVID-19 infection per 100,000 residents in the last 28 days.

The following territories have been added to this list, taking into account the CDC data:

  • Djibouti
  • India
  • Kosovo
  • Montserrat

Level 1 consists of countries that are considered epidemiologically safe. At present, it includes Japan and Taiwan, while no new additions were made on Tuesday.

The following countries are included on Level 1:

  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • China
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Falkland Islands
  • The Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Hong Kong SAR
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Niger
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Taiwan
  • Timor-Leste (East Timor)

Based on the data provided by the World Health Organization, a total of 66,254,888 people have tested positive for the Coronavirus in the United States since the start of the pandemic. In addition, the same source shows that during the same period, 846,647 people have died due to the virus in the US.

WHO data also shows that in the last seven days, 4,905,264 people have tested positive for the virus, while 12,474 people have died.

The rapid spread of the COVID-19’s Omicron variant, which has now become the main variant in many countries, has led authorities in the US to tighten their restrictions to prevent another surge in the number of infections.

Be the first to comment.
Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *

Your comment will be displayed only after manual approval.

Popular Posts

Michelle Jay Consulting (MJC) is a Visa and Migration company with a focus and expertise in processes for the United States, Canada, UK, Ireland, Schengen, and Australia.

+234 9 291 5925 +234 805 776 6041
Copyright © 2022 mjcservice.com, All Rights Reserved.